Saint Lucia Visa

If you are looking for a getaway and need to rest on an island with breathtaking beaches, sunny weather, friendly locals, and delicious food, you might as well consider visiting Saint Lucia. But before planning your trip to this amazing country and experiencing everything the island offers, first, you might have to apply for a Saint Lucia visa.

Who Needs a Visa for Saint Lucia?

Citizens from one of the countries listed below do not need a visa to visit and enter Saint Lucia. They can enter and stay in the county for six weeks with just a valid passport:

  • Andorra
  • Guernsey
  • New Zealand
  • Anguilla
  • Hing Kong
  • Panama
  • Argentina
  • Ireland
  • Russia
  • Aruba
  • Isle of Man
  • Saba
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • Somao
  • Bermuda
  • Japan
  • San Marino
  • Bonaire
  • Jersey
  • Seychelles
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Kiribati
  • Sint Eustatius
  • Botswana
  • South Korea
  • Solomon Islands
  • Brazil
  • Kuwait
  • South Africa
  • Brunei
  • Lesotho
  • Taiwan
  • Canada
  • Malawi
  • Tanzania
  • Cayman Islands
  • Maldives
  • Tonga
  • Chile
  • Marshall Islands
  • Turkey
  • China
  • Mauritius
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Mexico
  • Tuvalu
  • Cuba
  • Micronesia
  • United Kingdom
  • Curacao
  • Monaco
  • United States
  • Eswatini
  • Montenegro
  • Uruguay
  • Fiji
  • Montserrat
  • Vanuatu
  • Georgia
  • Namibia
  • Zambia
  • Gibraltar
  • Nauru

Citizens of the countries listed below have the freedom of movement:

  • Antigua and Barbuda.
  • Dominica.
  • Grenada.
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis.
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

Citizens of the countries listed below can enter and stay in Saint Lucia for six months without a visa:

  • Bahamas.
  • Barbados.
  • Belize.
  • Guyana.
  • Jamaica.
  • Suriname.
  • Trinidad and Tobago.

Citizens of the countries listed below can enter and stay in Saint Lucia for 90 within 180 days without a visa:

  • All EU citizens (except for citizens of Ireland).
  • Iceland.
  • Liechtenstein.
  • Norway.
  • Switzerland.

Citizens of the United Arab Emirates can visit and stay in Saint Lucia for 60 days without a visa.

Visa on Arrival for Saint Lucia

If you are a foreigner from one of the countries listed below can obtain a visa on arrival for Saint Lucia:

  • American Samoa
  • Gambia
  • Palau
  • Benin
  • Ghana
  • Palestine
  • Bhutan
  • Guatemala
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Bolivia
  • Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Burkina Faso
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Peru
  • Burundi
  • Honduras
  • Philippines
  • Cambodia
  • India
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Cameroon
  • Kenya
  • Senegal
  • Cape Verde
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Sierra Leone
  • Comoros
  • Macau
  • Sudan
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Madagascar
  • Thailand
  • Djibouti
  • Malaysia
  • Timor-Leste
  • Ecuador
  • Mali
  • Togo
  • El Salvador
  • Mauritania
  • Uganda
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Mongolia
  • Vietnam
  • Ethiopia
  • Mozambique
  • Zimbabwe
  • Gabon
  • Nicaragua

Saint Lucia Visa Requirements

Here are the documents you need to submit when applying for a Saint Lucia visa:

  • A passport valid for at least six months after the return date. 
  • Two passport-sized photos.
  • Saint Lucia visa application form.
  • A return or ongoing ticket. 
  • A document that must explain your travel itinerary. 
  • A hotel or any other private accommodation document. 
  • A letter of invitation from a friend or relative. 
  • Proof of sufficient funds.
  • A letter from the university in your home country (if you are a student).
  • A letter from your employer (if you are an employee).
  • Civil status documents. 
  • Birth certificate (if applicable). 
  • Criminal record.
  • Medical record.

How to Apply for Saint Lucia Visa?

Follow these steps when applying for a Saint Lucia visa:

  1. Book a visa appointment at the nearest embassy/consulate of Saint Lucia in your home country.
  2. Download the Saint Lucia visa application form, complete it and sign it at the end.
  3. Gather and submit all the Saint Lucia visa required documents.
  4. Wait for an answer.

Note: Any missing document can lead to your visa refusal, so make sure you submit all the documents requested by the embassy. 

Duration of a Saint Lucia Visa

The duration of a single entry visa for a Saint Lucia is three months. This type of visa is issued for:

  • Tourism.
  • Visits.
  • Business meetings.
  • Medical controls, etc.

But, if you are issued a multiple entry visa, you can stay in Saint Lucia for one year.

The “Live It” Program enables digital nomads to reside and work remotely in Saint Lucia for a maximum of one year.

Saint Lucia Visa Fees

The Saint Lucia visa fees depend on the type of visa you apply for:

  • A single entry Saint Lucia visa is $125.
  • A multiple entry Saint Lucia visa is $190.

You can finish the application visa fee payment at the embassy or consulate of Saint Lucia when submitting the requested documents. 

Residence Permit for Saint Lucia

There are three types of residence permits you can obtain in Saint Lucia:

  • The right to reside.
  • Permanent residence. 
  • Citizenship. 

The Right to Reside

A foreign citizen who wishes to reside in Saint Lucia must work or buy a property in the island. 

  • If you plan to work in Saint Lucia, you must apply for a work permit before flying into the country. After your work permit is issued, the Immigration Department will stamp your passport and allow you to reside in the country for as long as your work permit is valid.
  • If you plan to buy a property in Saint Lucia, you can request special permission from the Minister of legal affairs. Your permission will be granted after the identification of the applicant is done.

Permanent Residence

After staying for five years with a residence permit in Saint Lucia, you can apply for a permanent residence permit. By obtaining a Saint Lucia residence permit, your passport will be stamped. You will be allowed to prevent applying for your residence permit every three months and the inconvenience of time-consuming procedures at the port of entry after an overseas trip.

However, your permanent residence permit does not allow you to work in Saint Lucia. A work permit is still required.  

St Lucia Citizenship

You can obtain Saint Lucia citizenship if:

  • You are born in Saint Lucia.
  • You are born to parents that were born in Saint Lucia.
  • You are married to a Saint Lucia citizen.
  • You have stayed in Saint Lucia for seven years with a residence permit. This period may be reduced in special circumstances if applied by the Cabinet of Ministers. However, these are rare, and most people need to complete the full seven years

The Benefits of Having a Saint Lucia Citizenship

The provided citizenship by Saint Lucia can lead to the following benefits:

  • You can have dual citizenship.
  • You have the freedom of movement to 116 other countries, including :
    • Europe’s Schengen area.
    • Hong Kong
    • Singapore
    • The United Kingdom, etc.
  • You can expand your business.
  • You can include your spouse, children, and parents after being issued Saint Lucia citizenship.
  • You will have the same rights as the citizens of Saint Lucia.

Why Should You Visit Saint Lucia?

Here are a few reasons why you should visit Saint Lucia:

  1. The country is well known for its friendly locals.
  2. The weather is ideal for a relaxing vacation.
  3. You can explore the country by taking a segway tour.
  4. There are several different fun beaches you can visit.
  5. There is an amazing food that the locals make.
  6. You can bathe in the fresh waters of Toraille Waterfall.
  7. You can visit the world’s only drive-in volcano, Sulphur Springs.
  8. You can hike in the Piton mountains.
  9. You can see how the chocolate is made.
  10. The locals have a wonderful taste in music that you can dance to day and night.