Libya Visa

Libya has been in conflict for many years, which is why it has been considered a very unsafe place for foreigners. For this reason, many countries advise their citizens not to visit Libya unless absolutely necessary. However, foreigners who want to visit the country can read the article below for further information regarding the Libya visa policy.

Who Needs a Visa for Libya?

Citizens of Jordan and Tunesia do not need a visa to enter the country. However, besides some other nationalities listed below that fulfill some criteria, almost everyone who wants to visit Libya must apply for a visa before entering the country.

Can I Apply for a Libya Visa?

The Republic of Libya has been unstable for many years due to crime, terrorism, civil unrest, and armed conflict. Libya is currently not issuing tourist visas and is not planning on issuing them because of its current condition.

The government does not control Libya’s borders. The borders are controlled by the Tuareg people and the Toubou people; that is why the government advises foreign citizens not to enter the Republic of Libya.

Other Visa Exemptions

Here are some other nationalities that are exempted from the requirements of a Libya visa:

Holders of a diplomatic passport, official or service passports of:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • Morocco
  • Pakistan
  • Slovenia
  • Sudan
  • Venezuela

Holders of diplomatic passports of:

  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Ivory Coast
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Togo
Note: Citizens of Bangladesh, Iran, Pakistan, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen are banned from entering the country even if they are holding valid travel documents or containing a visa.