Equatorial Guinea Visa

A small country on the West Coast of Africa, the Republic of Equatorial Guinea has made its way to being one of the richest countries in Africa. However, the country is known for many other things, such as; its friendly locals, beaches, mountains, wildlife, culture, and traditions.

Foreigner citizens who wish to explore and know more about the country can read the article below. They will find everything they need to know regarding Equatorial Guinea visa policy, requirements, duration, visa types, and other interesting things.

Who Needs a Visa for Equatorial Guinea?

Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Equatorial Guinea:

  • Barbados
  • Cameroon
  • China
  • Central African Republic
  • Tunisia
  • Chad
  • Turkey
  • Republic of the Congo
  • United States
  • Gabon

Other Visa Exemptions

Here are some other visa exemptions:

  • Holders of diplomatic, official, or service passports of the following countries do not need a visa to enter the country:
    • Brazil
    • China
    • Cuba
    • Morocco
    • United Arab Emirates
  • Holders of diplomatic service and passport issued by Serbia do not need a visa to enter Equatorial Guinea.
  • Citizens of the United Arab Emirates that are holders of a normal passport can apply for an Equatorial Guniea visa at the port of entry.
Note: Everyone else must apply for a visa before traveling to Equatorial Guinea. Including citizens who will only need to transit through Equatorial Guinea.

How to Apply for an Equatorial Guinea Visa?

Applicants who need a visa to enter the county must apply for a visa at the nearest embassy or consulate of Equatorial Guinea to enter the country. For an easier application process, follow these steps:

  1. Contact the nearest embassy or consulate of Equatorial Guinea and book a visa appointment.
  2. Fill out the visa application form, download it and sign it at the end. Do not leave any blank spaces.
  3. Gather all the necessary documents. See ‘Equatorial Guinea’ for more detailed information.
  4. Submit the required documents to the embassy or consulate.
  5. Finish the applicable visa fee payment and attach the receipt to your visa application form.
  6. Wait until you receive a response from the embassy or consulate with your application visa result.

Equatorial Guinea Visa Requirements:

To apply for a Guinea visa, submit the following documents:

  • A passport document valid for at least six months after your return date.
  • Fully completed and signed Equatorial Guinea visa application form.
  • Passport-sized photos taken within the last three to six months.
  • A travel itinerary explaining the purpose of your trip to Equatorial Guinea.
  • Accommodation proof such as hotel reservations, rental agreement, or letter of invitation.
  • Invitation letter issued from a friend or family member in Equatorial Guinea.
  • A valid travel health insurance that will cover your whole stay in the country.
  • A criminal record, this document must prove that you have a clean criminal record and you are not a threat to the Republic of Equatorial Guinea.
  • A bank statement document proving that you are financially stable and that you can financially support yourself while in Equatorial Guinea.

Note: The embassy or consulate of Equatorial Guinea may request other documents to support your visa application form.

Remember any missing or incorrect information can lead to your application visa being denied.

Equatorial Guinea Visa Processing Time

The processing time for an Equatorial Guinea visa is between 2 to 15 working days. However, the processing time depends on several factors, such as:

  • The time you apply for an Equatorial Guinea visa.
  • The country you are applying from.
  • If there is any missing or incorrect information.
  • Your age.
  • Your passport type.

Duration of an Equatorial Guinea

The duration of an Equatorial Guinea visa depends on the type of visa you are applying for. For example, a tourist visa is issued for three months.

However, if your visa duration states that you can stay in Equatorial Guinea for 60 months, you can stay in the country for 60 months until your visa expires.

Equatorial Guinea Visa Fees

The Equatorial Guinea visa fees depend on the type of visa you are applying for, the country you are applying from, your age, or the passport type you have. So for further information regarding visa fee payment, you must contact the embassy or consulate of Equatorial Guinea in your home country.

Equatorial Guinea Visa Types

Applicants who want to stay longer than 90 days in Equatorial Guinea must apply for a residence permit. A residence permit is issued once entering the country. The applicants can apply for different types of residence permits they can apply for depending on the purpose of their stay in the country.

Applicants who do not need a visa to enter the country must only apply for a residence permit once entering the country. For example, American citizens do not need a visa to enter Equatorial Guinea. However, they must apply for a residence permit once they enter the country.

Interesting Facts About Equatorial Guinea?

Here are some interesting facts about Equatorial Guinea:

  1. Equatorial Guniea is the only country in Africa where the official language is Spanish. Spain had a big influence on the country from 1844 to 1968, which is why it has remained the official language.
  2. The country is thinking of changing its capital city.
  3. It is known for being one of the smallest countries in Africa that is part of the United Nations.
  4. Equatorial Guinea is one of the wealthiest countries in Africa. However, only the country’s leaders take advantage of this since the country’s wealth is not divided among its population.
  5. It is one of the tenth African countries with a lower population, less than one million people.
  6. Equatorial Guinea’s president has been serving his duty since 1979.
  7. The country is one of the biggest oil-producing countries in sub-Saharan Africa.
  8. One of the world’s wettest places in Equatorial Guinea. It receives 411 inches of rain per year.
  9. The country is home to some of the largest frogs in the world. They are called Goliath Frogs and can grow up to 34cm long and weigh more than 3.2kg.
  10. Equatorial Guinea is one of the 27 countries worldwide that does not have any UNESCO World Heritage Sites.